Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever had that one dessert that you learned to make years ago and don’t remember where you got the recipe? Well this is mine! It is one of my favorite desserts and tastes so darn good. I’ve made it for BBQ’s, 4th of July, Christmas parties, birthday parties, just because parties, etc. I’ve added various berries on top but the favorite seems to be raspberries, but you can also use blueberries or strawberries. When I made this for the 4th of July, I made it into an American flag just to be festive. So take this recipe and have fun with it!

 

I also feel that I have to explain the names. So after I made it for 2 different church parties (upon my husband’s request) I asked for help in coming up with a name. The first night, someone said it tasted like “heaven in his mouth”. My husband thought that was hilarious and began using that term at every possible moment. The following night at another party when I asked for help in coming up with a name, one person mentioned “Raspberry Delight’ which I felt was quite fitting. However, my husband decided to rebirth the “heaven in your mouth” name. “Raspberry Delight” was quickly forgotten and the ongoing joke of tasting “Heaven in your mouth” was officially born. So as I post this, I figured it’d be wise for me to include both names. But feel free to rename it for your parties. If you come up with a better name, please let me know in the comment section!

Another note about this recipe is below I’m including the lighter calorie version. Feel free to purchase the non-light types of each ingredient. It tastes the same, but please make it as you see fit. Try to make this at least 5 hours before serving so everything has time to set.  I typically make it the day before I need it. I hope you love it as much as we do!

Ingredients:

Crust

3 cups graham cracker crumbs (Can also use regular graham crackers and crush them)

1 cup light butter, melted

 

Pie

4 8-oz. cream cheese, light (must be soft)

1 can regular Whipped cream

1 8 oz. tub of Light Cool Whip

1/2 cup of white sugar

4 tablespoons Vanilla Extract

 

Topping

2-3 cups of sliced fresh berries

2 tablespoons sugar

 

Directions:

1. Make the crust first. Melt the butter and mix in a large bowl with the bread crumbs.

2. Press the crust mixture into the bottom of a 9 x 13 cake pan.

3.Clean off your berries and slice them. I typically cut my raspberries into quarters. Spread the berries on a layer of wax paper and sprinkle 1 tablespoon of sugar. Put in the fridge so they can dry out a bit. If you’re making this the day that you’re serving it, you can just put them off to the side on your counter until you serve it.Image

4. Pie time! Make sure your cream cheese is softened. Normally you need to take it out of the fridge about an hour before you get to this step. Place all the cream cheese into a large mixing bowl and mash together.

5. Add the 1/2 cup of sugar and vanilla extract. Mix everything together well.

6. Mix in the tub and can of cool whip. Fold everything together well. I like to do both because it adds a different layer of consistency that mixes really well. Also, you can use less white sugar because the whipped cream has it already. Lastly, it saves you money! Now who doesn’t like that?

7. Once everything is mixed together well, pour on top of the crust and smooth across. Cover with cling wrap and place in the fridge for about 3-5 hours.

Image

8. About 20-30 minutes before serving, take the berries out of the fridge and set out so they can dry out. You may need to pat them dry. Once they’re dry, sprinkle another tablespoon of sugar on top.

9. Slice your pie into bite-sized pieces. Typically, I end up with about 30 squares. (6 rows, 5 columns)

10. Spoon your berries on top and serve! If you have any extra whipped cream, squeeze some on top as you’re serving.

Image

Image